Burnie City Youth Council

Burnie City Youth Council enables young people to contribute their voice to positive change in matters that affect them in pataway / Burnie.

The Burnie Youth Council is a Special Committee of the Burnie City Council and is coordinated by Burnie Works. 

Being a Youth Councillor provides young people with the opportunity to learn about how Local Government works, develop leadership skills, learn more about their local community and participate in a range of community projects. 

Each year four students from each high school and two students from each primary school are nominated by their school to become a youth councillor. 

These representatives are then asked to nominate for the positions of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Junior Deputy Mayor. 

Burnie City Youth Mayor – Russi Sturzaker (Parklands). Deputy Youth Mayor – Matthias Hii (Marist). Junior Deputy Youth Mayor - Cora Butler (Romaine Park Primary).
Youth Council - July Meeting

2024 Youth Council

Burnie Works, in partnership with Burnie City Council, have made some changes to youth council membership. These changes will take place over a two-year period and will see all Youth Councillors participating in Youth Council for two years by 2025.

Read More »

Burnie Works is facilitating the Burnie City Youth Council in partnership with the Burnie City Council.

The Burnie City Council Youth Council Special Committee consists of:
Council Representative: Deputy Mayor Giovanna Simpson (Proxy: Cr Amina Keygan)
Contact Officer:  General Manager, Burnie City Council

Want to know more?

Contact Kira

Ph: 0491 176 751

2023 Burnie City Youth Council

Paige Hook, Christopher Cole (CJ), Ruby Walker, Shukuya Broomhall, Charlotte Schumann, Russi Sturzaker, Teresa Turner, Isabelle Scott, Matthias Hii, Fatma Ahmed, Reuben Chandler, Sanuli Karunaratne, Indiana Brown, Sienna Laird, Cai Jones (CJ), Madeline French, Chloe Smith, Emerson Blight, Cora Butler, Noah St Clair, Carter Harvey, Eden Marshall, Madix Wells, Norah Ashley, Grace Williams, Ryan Stone and Parker Dennis.