Join us for parent/carer Story Telling Workshops

Join us for parent/carer Story Telling Workshops

You are invited to tell your story as part of the North West First 1000 Days project in Smithton, Burnie and Devonport.

Together we are exploring how community-led approaches to parent education can improve outcomes for children, families, and communities.

The term First 1000 Days encompasses a child’s life starting from conception until they turn 2 years old (24 months). This is an important time for the growth and development of their body and particularly the brain.

Story telling workshops are relaxed. You can talk, write, paint, or use craft to tell your story.

Your story can help other parents and be included in our very own locally made parent resources.

We are keen to hear as many stories as we can. We bring all the stories together in our ‘co-design group’ where parents and professionals think about what we could make to improve things for local families (a video, flyer, storybook, hmmm what else?…)

Our designs will get a test run in community. And what is designed in your community, will stay in your community.

Story telling workshop dates

Smithton
Smithton Library
9:30am to 11:30am
Wednesday 22 May, Wednesday 29 May and Wednesday 5 June

Burnie
Burnie Child and Family Learning Centre
1pm to 2:30pm
Thursday 9 May, Thursday 23 May, and Thursday 30 May

Burnie Library
10am to 12pm
Monday 3 June, Monday 10 June and Monday 17 June

Devonport
Devonport Library
9:30am to 10:30am
Friday 10 May

Devonport Library
10am to 12pm
Friday 17 May

Devonport Child and Family Learning Centre
1pm to 2:30pm
Monday 20 May and Monday 27 May

Devonport Playhouse
10am to 11am
Friday 24 May and Friday 31 May

Please let us know if you will have children with you (some places may be able to provide adjunct childcare as long as we book in).

Register to be part of the North West First 1000 Days project

  • If applicable